You are here:   Board Members > Executive Board
Register   |  Login

Dr. Dawn D. Randle


Dawn DuBose Randle is a 1992 graduate of Prairie View A & M University where she earned a Bachelor’s of Science in Elementary Education and Master’s of Art in Counseling. She later attended the University of Houston-Victoria, where she obtained her Principal and Superintendent Certification. In July 2010, she completed the Harvard University Graduate School of Education Evolving Leadership Institute and received her Doctorate in Educational Administration from Texas Southern University in December 2010. 

Currently, Dr. Randle is the principal at S.C. Red Elementary School, a HISD Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Magnet Program where the school has earned TEA Exemplary/Recognized accountability ratings,  TEA Distinctions in Top 25% Progress/Reading and the Title I Distinguished Award. 
She was appointed by the Governor’s Office to serve on the Texas School Safety Center Board. Dawn has served as the corresponding, recording secretary, and President-Elect for the Houston Area Alliance of Black School Educators (HAABSE). She is also a member of NABSE, TABSE, the Houston Association of School Administrators (HASA), Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD), National Alumni Association of PVAMU-Houston Chapter (Life Member), Rotary Club of W. University, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, and Lilly Grove Baptist Church.  Dr. Randle is married to Johnathan K. Randle.





Dr. Christopher Pichon

Immediate-Past President


Dr. Christopher Pichon has served 5 years as Principal of Landis Elementary School in Alief ISD, a TEA “Recognized” campus for four consecutive years, and one of Texas’ best public schools in the December, 2007 Issue of Texas Monthly. 

Dr. Pichon earned an Ed.D. at Texas Southern University, a M.S. and B.S. at the University of Houston in Computer Information Systems Technology. He also earned Superintendent Certification at Stephen F. Austin University and Principal Certification at Texas Southern University. 

He was awarded the 2008 TABSE Outstanding Principal Award and the Phi Delta Kappa 2007-08 Advocate of the Year Award. He maintains membership in TEPSA, as well as the National, Texas, and Houston-Area Alliance of Black School Educators (NABSE, TABSE, HAABSE) in which he serves as HAABSE President.

Dr. Pichon has been married for 22 years to Sonya Pichon, and is the father of Cambrian Pichon, the late Christopher Pichon II, and Cortney Pichon. He has established the Christopher Pichon II Foundation in honor of his late son in which free community health fairs are provided for all youth, but especially student athletes.


Dr. Elaine Bailey


Dr. Elaine Bailey, CEO of AJNJ Educational Enterprises, retired after completing 34 years in the field of education.  As a graduate of Texas Southern University, she began her teaching career in the Houston Independent School District, where she remained for thirteen years.

The remainder of her career in education was spent in the North Forest Independent School District, where she held a multitude of administrative positions.  Dr. Bailey is a charter member of both the Houston Area Alliance of Black School Educators and the Texas Alliance of Black School Educators and she has been a “Life” member of the National Alliance of Black School Educators for more than twenty years.  She is currently the Immediate Past President of her local affiliate and President-elect of the state affiliate, as well as the Southwest Affiliate Representative for national.

Dr. Bailey is deeply committed to the ideals of HAABSE, TABSE, and NABSE and she believes that each of us should make ourselves a committee of one for the purpose of ensuring a quality education for every child in this nation.


Ms. Angela Duplechain

Recording  Secretary

Angela Duplechain is the Recording Secretary for Houston Area Alliance Black School of Educators (HAABSE).  She is employed with Houston Independent School as a Special Education Coordinator.  She has 30 years of experience in Education.  She has been a member of HAABSE for five months.   Her organizations are Knights and Ladies of Peter Claver, where she holds the Recording Secretary position on the State level, Inez Bowman - Fourth Degree, Drexelaire Society, where she holds the Recording Secretary position, Stewardship Committee at St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church, and money collector for St. Francis Xavier annual bazaars.



Ms. Beverly Dancer

Corresponding Secretary

Beverly Rivers Dancer is a NABSE Life Member and served on NABSE’s Board of Directors for two years representing the Local School Administration Commission. She is a Charter Member of the Jefferson ABSE and a past president of that affiliate. Shortly after relocating to Houston, Ms. Dancer joined HAABSE where she served as Standing Committee Chair. Ms. Dancer was educated in the New Orleans Public Schools System and received her B.S. and M.Ed. from Texas Southern University. She is an educator with many years of experience as a Principal, Assistant Principal, Instructional Coordinator, Title 1 Facilitator, and Teacher. She is also an active member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and TSU Alumni Association. Ms. Dancer is the proud mother of Beagan and Johnny Dancer, and grandmother of Dorian Fontenette, Jada and JaKayla Dancer.




Ms. Vanita Reed

Financial Secretary

Vanita Reed is a retired Houston Independent School District teacher and administrator. Following her retirement with HISD, she became principal of St. James School where she remained for three years. She has been an active member of HAABSE, TABSE, and NABSE for nearly 20 years. She is a past HAABSE president and is currently the Recording Secretary of TABSE.




Mrs. Eliza York


Eliza York has a B.S. Degree in Mathematics, a Master’s Degree in Counseling, as well as Administration and Superintendent Certification—all from Texas Southern University.  She has been involved with the educational organizations on all levels.  Eliza served as president of the Houston Counseling Association and was its membership chair.  Mrs. York has served HAABSE as a volunteer, and now serves in the position of Treasurer.  Eliza York has also served her church as secretary and treasurer for twenty five years, and is an active member of Hillwood Civic Club.


Picture Not Shown

Ms. Linda Burks



Dr. Roslyn Vaughn




Mr. Lester Howard






Picture Not Shown

Cameron C. Wells, Jr.

Historian Emeritus

























Click here to join HAABSE!