

























Join **HAABSE** today!











ABOUT HAABSE

The Houston Area Alliance of Black School
Educators (HAABSE), an affiliate of both the
Texas Alliance of Black School Educators
(TABSE) and the National Alliance of Black
School Educators (NABSE), was organized in
May of 1986. HAABSE's primary goal is to enhance the education of all students. HAABSE is particularly sensitive to the needs and interests of the Black community. Using the HAABSE network, members can share and provide many valuable professional services and intervention strategies focused on improving the educators in our community.

MISSION

The Houston Area Alliance of Black School Educators' primary mission is to enhance the education of all students and to exercise leadership in providing valuable professional services and strategies to institutions, agencies, and communities engaged in creating an environment in which students, particularly black students, can achieve academic excellence.



Executive Board



Dr. Rhonda D. Mason, President •

HAABSE'S BIG 3

1. Membership Engagement

- Engaging more members throughout HAABSE
- Building Internal Leadership Capacity
- To improve the ability of Black educators to promote problem resolution
- To present a recognition program for educators

2. Member engagement in the Legislative

process

- Engagement
 - To increase legislative sensitivity of Black educational issues

3. Youth Involvement Support

- Promoting and continuing to support our students beyond high school
 - To focus on students, i.e., literacy, academics, and mentorships
 - To provide student scholarships
 - To create a meaningful and effective network of strength, talent, and professional support for students' education
 - To provide information to students and parents relative to preparation for college

COMMITTEES

- By-Laws/Constitution Sheree Bogany, Chair
 Community Service
 - Linda Burks, Chair • District Communication
 - Dr. Cedric Stewart, Chair
- Fundraising
 - Dr. Corina Bullock, Co-Chair Shaughn Thomas, Co-Chair
- Membership Ciara Marks, Chair Adrienne Glover, Co-chair
- Professional Development Lisa Langston, Chair
- Promotions and Marketing William Ealy, Chair
- Scholarship Sheree Bogany, Chair
- Social Activities Dr. Erin Bradley, Chair
- Sponsorship William Ealy, Chair

• Teacher Awards and Recognition Ceremony

- Dr. Brenda Dearmon
- Youth Involvement

SheNee Young, Co-Chair Sherita Harmon, Co-Chair

